EPA air pollution, criteria pollutants, other pollutants – last reviewed in 2014

EPA Criteria Pollutants https://www.cdc.gov/air/pollutants.htm, page last reviewed in April 2014

The EPA has identified six pollutants as “criteria” air pollutants because it regulates them by developing human health-based and/or environmentally-based criteria (science-based guidelines) for setting permissible levels. These six pollutants are carbon monoxide, lead, nitrogen oxides, ground-level ozone, particle pollution (often referred to as particulate matter), and sulfur oxides.

Carbon Monoxide


Nitrogen Oxides


Particulate Matter

Sulfur Dioxide

Other Air Pollutants