Renewables are getting cheaper, but taking these fossil fuels (common resources) out of the ground and selling them is still more lucrative. We’ll need radical intervention, as big oil companies are driven by profit and won’t decarbonize by themselves.

Comment: Big oil companies are driven by profit – they won’t turn green by themselves by Brett Christophers, The Guardian. May 26, 2021 Tue 25 May 2021 551 Last week, the International Energy Agency (IEA), the world’s leading energy authority, laid bare the scale of the challenge in keeping the world on track to achieve net-zero emissions by 2050: a massive acceleration …

FHWA Air Quality, Sustainable Transportation and Resilience Team, also EDC: Safe Transportation for Every Pedestrian

FHWA Headquarters Air Quality and Transportation Conformity Team Cecilia Ho, Cecilia.Ho@dot.gov (202) 366-9862, Team Leader Edward Dancausse, Edward.Dancausse@dot.gov (919) 747-7026 Mark Glaze, Mark.Glaze@dot.gov (202) 366-4053 David Kall, David.Kall@dot.gov (202) 366-6276 Victoria Martinez, Victoria.Martinez@dot.gov (787) 771-2524 Karen Perritt, Karen.Perritt@dot.gov (202) 366-9066 Aileen Varela-Margolles, a.varela-margolles@dot.gov, (305) 978-7780, noise specialist FHWA Headquarters Sustainable Transportation and Resilience Team Mike Culp, Michael.Culp@dot.gov, (202) 366-9229, Team Leader John Davies, JohnG.Davies@dot.gov, (202) 366-6039 Elizabeth Habic, Elizabeth.Habic@dot.gov, (202) 366-1701 Connie Hill Galloway, Connie.Hill@dot.gov, (804) 775-3378 …

Shared Mobility update Feb 2021

The failure of “free market” energy that has many considering the benefits of sustainable alternatives from decentralized microgrids and community solar fields to rural electric co-operatives. New York’s MTA may be applauding its own efforts in accessibility improvements for the city’s transit network, but advocates and transit leaders think they’ve stopped far short of following through with ADA recommendations. LA …

Results show that interventions that focus on social, cultural, and moral norms have the most significant effect on travel behavior

“Dear diary, I took the bus today!” – Cost-efficient travel behavior influencers, June 15th, 2020 By Saumya Jain “Soft” transportation policy measures can influence a significant reduction in personal car use, according to a new research published in Transportation Research Part D. The Behavioral Toolkit identifies six psychological variables that can affect travel behavior: attitudes; emotions; habits;  social, cultural, and moral norms; knowledge and awareness; …